Skip to content

Four Rabbits Of The Apocalypse

March 24, 2009

dsc_00141

And I heard, as it were, the noise of thunder:
One of the four beasts saying: “Come and see.”
And I saw. And behold, a white bunny rabbit.
And the name that sat upon him was Death.

Four Rabbits Of The Apocalypse is my very first Little Big Planet level. This amazing game has an even more amazing level editor. How amazing is it? Well, let me put it this way.

I built this level – warts and all – in about three evenings – say 7 or 8 hours. The level design began with me, in disbelief, asking myself if i could build a functioning rocket.dsc_00121 Yes? How about a nuclear missile that will rain death and destruction at the press of a button? Oh, no problem? Well, a missile silo for the nuclear missile… you get the point.

Level design wise, this creation of mine sucks mightily. I believe, however, that I’ve learned in the process how to plan and create a level that doesn’t suck a golf ball through a garden hose. And however bad the level design, i think i created a nice little set piece on the topic of fluffy rabbits and nuclear destruction.

For my next level, already under construction: Torrent Of Blood In The Pirate Bay, I’ve planned out the map so thatdsc_0023 it’s playable and has an actual point before coming to the yummy details and eye candy.

Media Molecule has done something remarkable; they have tapped in to the levvel of creative joy that i feel when tinkering with Lego. Big up yourself, Media Molecule, that’s as big a compliment as I can give.dsc_00271

‘Oh, the humanity… only 33 plays and two hearts out of two million registered players… I can’t take it either.’ *sob*

So run, don’t walk, and get yourself a PS3 with LBP, then kneecap yourself or do whatever it takes to spend the rest of the year at home. And while you’re there, swing by Four Rabbits Of The Apocalypse and gimme a few hearts. Please?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

