Skip to content

Songs born to be ringtones

May 8, 2009

During my travels i have come across a collection of what i believe to be kickass songs that were born to be ringtones. Check them out and tell me if i’m wrong:

For when your office calls:

Minimum Wage by They Might Be Giants  
This song says it all and immediately puts you in the proper mood to answer that important call from your boss at 9 in the evening. No need to crop or edit it, it’s basically made to be a ringtone, although made long before the advent of MP3 ringtones. TMBG are old favourites of mine, i love their lyrics passionately:

flood

I’m your only friend
I’m not your only friend,
but I’m a little glowing friend,
but really I’m not actually your friend
but I am… 

Build A Little Birdhouse InYour Soul, Flood

T

They’re Coming To Take Me Away, Ha Ha by Napoleon XIV

This song is a classic and i find the chorus, either the first or the second one, where a siren in the background approaches is especially fitting as a ringtone, hee hee. 

They’re coming to take me away, ho, ho, hee, hee, ha, ha
To the funny farm where life is beautiful all the time
And I’ll be happy to see those nice young men in their clean white coats
And they’re coming to take me away, ha, ha

The Device Has Been Modified by Victims of Science

After having feverishly completed the best FPS game experience since Half-Life, i sat shivering with pleasure as the song “Still Alive” was played for me by my favorite game boss ever, the psychopathic mainframe GLAdOS. The entire game experience left me yearning, aching for more. That’s when i came across the brilliant remix by Victims of Science. The beginning of this song is a brilliant ringtone, especially for a jailbroken iPhone. The device HAS been modified, after all. 

You have any favorite ringtone songs? Tell me in the comments! 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Janek permalink
    May 8, 2009 7:48 am

    “Twisted nerve” by Bernard Herrmann works great as a ringtone! Love the whistling…

Leave a Reply

