Skip to content

Confessions of a glass addict

October 27, 2010

Working as a designer / art director, i have always had the need for a decent still camera for my daily work, and the desire to be able to produce video as well. A few years back, i jumped on the chance to buy Sony’s first HD capable camcorder, which set me back quite a bit but i considered it worth it if i could produce video with that professional, cinematic look i craved for my projects.

Turns out that HD really only means a higher definition of the same video quality you get from any camcorder. I guess i should have figured that one out for myself, but, well there you go.

It was recently i started noticing the video samples coming out of video capable DSLR:s, like the Canon EOS 5D mark II and the Canon EOS 7D. I realized that this was the kind of video i had been after all along. I had almost convinced myself to buy a EOS 7D  – way to expensive for a still camera, but i figured that if it took super video as well, then… – when reviews started coming in for the Rebel t2i / EOS 550D. Way cheaper than the 7D, but with pretty much the same video capabilities. Having almost convinced myself that i needed a pro camera for my work, the 550D felt like a bargain.

I bought the camera, took some test video with the kit lens, and…. meh. Video, sure, but nothing special.

Disheartened, i felt that i again had dropped a load of money on a piece of equipment that didn’t somehow magically transform me into a master videographer. A few days later, i stumbled on a blog that flatly stated that people who bought a Canon DSLR and not picked up the excellent 50mm 1.8 lens were just plain stoopid. And so, natuarally, i bought myself this piece of glass in a cheap plastic housing. Affixed it to my camera, and… magic. The light, the depth of field, the vibrance… oh my. The only way to travel.

So now i have a new gadget fetish. I’m now a burgeoning glass addict. I’ve borrowed a 30mm Sigma 1.4 lens and the kit lens is now gathering dust in a corner.

Now to combine it with the Glidecam 2000 rig i already own, i have the capability to create some nice panning shots, given that i can master the finicky balancing of the camera.

Another must-have accessory is the Gorillapod DSLR with which you can create a tripod out of whatever is handy. Unlike the Glidecam, which is way bulky, the Gorillapod is eminently portable.

It’s starting to become clear that all the tools i need to create the level of video quality i want are available to me now. Which means I only lack the time and talent to make kick-ass movies.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Finge permalink
    October 27, 2010 11:47 am

    Excellent post!

    I have also been looking for ways to improve video quality and shooting. The newly released Canon 60D seems to have some minor improvements for video too.

    Considering ditching the Sony HDR-CX 11 altogether going full on DSLR. The only thing holding me back is the lack of autofocus capabilities. Carrying only 1 camera would be so convenient, but not sure a busy dad can handle the manual focus down the slopes of Åre and the likes 😉

    I will definitely take you up on the recommendation for the 50mm.

    A far as talents go, you have buckets of it – and your movie of Ivan in the hospital inspires me to create better home movies!

  2. October 27, 2010 12:52 pm

    Nice to see that the lens does it’s work 🙂 And it’s a Sigma 30 mm f1.4, not 1,6. Important … 😉
    Veeery nice movie. The Glidecam rig seems very interesting indeed. Talk to you soon, Mr. Holmlund!

  3. Jonas permalink
    October 28, 2010 8:49 am

    From where did you buy Canon EF 50mm 1,6? I only seem to find 1,4 and 1,8.
    http://www.prisjakt.nu/produkt.php?p=31827

  4. October 28, 2010 9:09 am

    Oh, stupid me. Sorry for the last remark, that was about the Sigma lens (obviously).

Leave a Reply

